I LOOVEE HARRY POTTER!!!!

I remember the first time I watched Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone when it first came out. I was terrified from pretty much the very beginning and remained that way throughout almost the whole film. The boa constrictor Harry unknowingly sets free at the zoo? the goblins at Gringott’s Wizarding Bank?  Fluffy, the three-headed dog? Mr. Filch? Norbert, Hagrid’s pet dragon? Professor Quirrell’s Voldemort-bearing skull? FANG? They all scared me. They CREEPED me out. I couldn’t bear watching the film. I couldn’t watch The Chamber of Secrets either, because I found Dobby absolutely revolting (I WAS AN INSANE CHILD). I was also weirded out by Sirius Black in The Prisioner of Azkaban, as well as by Remus Lupin in his werewolf phase.

It wasn’t until I was about eight or nine that I actually started liking them. My dad got  the DVDs and the four of us would devote our Saturday afternoons to watching J.K. Rowling’s genius come alive on our television. 

Harry, Ron and Hermione became sort of heroes of mine. Hermione embodied the kind of person I wanted (and still want) to be. I started shipping Harry and Hermione, though it wouldn’t be until a few years later that I would learn what ‘shipping’ was, or that I would be completely obsessed with Harry Potter.

When we watched The Goblet of Fire, I decided I wanted to be a Griffyndor, and took silly fan-made Sorting Tests, that always put you in Harry Potter’s House no matter which answers you chose. A few months ago on Pottermore, I was sorted into Ravenclaw (wooot woot!!).

[RANDOM: the first time I heard about Doctor Who  was when my dad was changing channels looking for something good to watch, and we saw David Tennant (Barty Crouch Jr. on The Goblet of Fire) running across a rooftop ‘shooting’ at stuff with what I later learned was the Sonic Screwdriver. That was way before I met Elizabeth and Maddy who turned me into a Whovian.]

I made my parents take me three times (I think!) to see The Order of the Phoenix and I will admit I developed a deep hatred for Cho Chang for being so absolutely despicable, as well as for Bellatrix Lestrange for killing Darling Sirius Black.

In the time between the release of TOoTP and The Half-Blood Prince, I became a Proper Potterhead. Ellen started sending me fanfiction, after I read all seven books in the latter half of sixth gradeWhen THBP came out I begged my parent’s to take me to the Midnight showing, but they said no. I re-read the book twice during Day Camp, and listened to the Audio Book before we went to see the film. Oh how I fan-girled. I squealed quietly all throughout, cried like a MADWOMAN when Dumbledore died, thought I had died when Harry and Ginny kissed, and cheered (somewhat loudly…) when Hermione set her pretty birds on Ronald. My heart broke during that scene between Harry and Hermione in that balcony after Ron’s victory party. And when Lavender and Hermione started arguing in the Infirmary, in front of the Professors, I fan-girl DIED.

The Deathly Hallows part I was Literally The Most Amazing Movie In The History of Movies despite the ending. COULDN’T THEY HAVE FOUND A BETTER TIME TO CUT? GEESH. I still wanted to kill Ron half the time, and grew even more conflicted: HarryxHermione, or RonxHermione, or HarryxGinny? THAT DANCING SCENE between Harry and Hermione sent me into a squealing fit. I DIED for the millionth time.

I watched the Deathly Hallows pt. 2  London Premier on the Youtube Livestream. I was a mess. How I wished I could have been there! How absolutely marvelous everyone looked! Emma! Dan! Rupert! Tom! Gary! Ralph! Robbie! JO! When she gave that little speech, the part in which she says that “Hogwarts will always be there to welcome [you] home” I cried.

On the fifteenth, a year ago, my uncle took us to see it for my cousin Harry’s birthday. I drew Scars and Wands and Signs of The Hallows all over my arms. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. I cried (again) when George, Remus and Tonks died. I cheered when Molly said THAT LINE. “Not my daughter, you BITCH!”. Molly Weasley: I LOVE YOU. I melted when Ron and Hermione finally kissed.

One Woman.Seven Books. Eight Films. MILLIONS (if not BILLIONS) of Fans. A Decade.

It was too much to process. I cried that night.

It’s still a bit weird to think that there’s no more Potter films coming out any time soon. There’s no more Potter books coming forth. The chances of having such a MAGNIFICENT cast together, working on a production that LIFE ALTERING are pretty slim.

Unless, of course Moffat gets his Blank Check to make a Doctor Who/Sherlock crossover. THAT WOULD BE FREAKING EPIC!!!!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

