Summer Schoolwork. UFGH.

You see the title. You think “Oh God, NO.”

I feel the EXACT same way. I hate summer schoolwork. I don’t mind summer reading so much, especially if the book is good (I.E. HARRY POTTER.) but this year I got stuck with this historical book in ADDITION to my decent book. I read the decent book in about a day but this other book is taking me forever to get through. It’s about the Founding Fathers (no, sadly NOT the diner in Bones…) and the process of how the United States became the United States. Now, don’t get me wrong, I really like history. I think it’s interesting. But I have my limits. This book just goes ON AND ON about the Founding Fathers and I can barely get through a page without thinking, “When is this going to be over…?” It’s well written and everything, even slightly opinionated (something I enjoy). But it just makes me want to do something more interesting. I mean, I don’t HATE it or anything. It’s just that I can get into it for about 10 minutes and then I’m like “okay… the chapter should’ve ended right there… why is it continuing… this information is repetitive…” and then I start to lose my concentration.

Of course it doesn’t help when I have songs stuck in my head (Arms, Christina Perri and Ships in the Night, Mat Kearney AND The A-Team, Ed Sheeran). But usually I can just get through it.

ALSO, what bugs me more is that the book isn’t the end of it. I then have to read 9 chapters of my AP History textbook and take notes to then have a test on it the second week of school. That just bugs me. THEN for Chemistry, we have to learn multiple topics and we will be tested on them the second DAY of school. Then we are going to have another test on either the third or fourth day about safety in the classroom. BUT, before that, we have to take quizzes on that before school even starts. 4 days before!

Now, I’m not trying to be all “BOO HOO FOR ME MY LIFE SUCKS I HAVE TO DO WORK” but honestly? I don’t want to be sick of school before it even begins…

 

—I apologize for the rant. I’m just frustrated. Plus I needed a break from reading that book.

2 thoughts on “Summer Schoolwork. UFGH.

  1. Don’t forget that the AP History notes include answering actual critical thinking questions, too… XP

  2. OH. THE A-TEAM. ED SHEERAN. *FANGIRLING*

Leave a Reply

