On the Ethics of Shipping (Harry Potter)

Happy Birthday, Harry Potter and J.K. Rowling!! Today is Harry Potter’s 32nd Birthday and J.K. Rowling’s 47th!!!

And yesterday was Professor Neville Longbottom’s 32nd Birthday, so Happy [Belated] Birthday to him, as well!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Shipping in the Harry Potter fandom to me seems to be just amazingly complicated. For instance: Sure, I ship Severus/Lily but would cry for WEEKS if Harry Potter ceased to exist! Wouldn’t anybody? And also: How are you supposed to ship Dramione if this means Scorpius would not be born? (And: Is partial shipping even possible? Like, by definition, can I ship Remus/Sirius SOMETIMES instead of ALL THE TIME?? Because I love Tonks, I really do…) But I seem to always be able to find a way around this; my real shipping ethics don’t come into play until Harry Potter himself comes up.

In general, I consider myself a Fairly Strong Shipper of Harry/Ginny. I mean, it’s near impossible to imagine them not together; it would be simply Not Right. However, I absolutely despise most Harry/Ginny fanfiction. I mean, I would rather read Hermione/Ron fanfiction than Harry/Ginny, and I HATE Ron. ESPECIALLY with Hermione.*

[*This goes back to me hating Ron’s personality, I think. He’s really mean and obnoxious and insensitive and just plain immature for most of the time. Specifically towards Hermione. And I know what you’re saying, that young boys express their feelings for girls by making fun of them, but you know what? I could make that same argument for Draco, who is less mean and obnoxious and insensitive and immature towards Hermione and instead just likes picking on her. So if that was true, wouldn’t it be Draco who liked Hermione? Exactly.]

The main reason I dislike most Harry/Ginny fanfiction is probably because Ginny is a very hard character to write. I would know. I’ve tried. Her personality is less simple and defined than Harry’s, always the Determined Hero, or Hermione’s, the Bookworm, or even Voldemort’s, the Heartless Bad Guy. Instead, she’s something of a mix between several archetypes. She’s a bit of a Tomboy, but she’s also Independent and a Fiercely Loyal Friend. She is Sporty and has had LOADS of Boyfriends. So all in all, she’s pretty confusing. This makes it exceptionally hard for people who are not J.K. Rowling to write her completely In Character; the only really great Ginnys I have read are written by Dramione authors, who mostly focus on the Fiercely Loyal Friend part of her character.

That being said, I much prefer to read Harry/Hermione fanfiction, although I do not ship Harmony in canon AT ALL. I have no idea why this is. I guess I might like the fluffiness that is usually present in these stories? This shipping is certainly much different from my OTPs (TTPs?), Draco/Hermione and Artemis/Holly, as the fics are pretty much Pure Fluff without any Sarcastic Humor and Sharp Wit. And so in that way, it may be me Looking For Something Different. But it also might be just because it’s so interesting to think about how Harry and Hermione’s friendship could have, under different circumstances, developed into Something More. So I really have no clue about the reasons behind my unorthodox attraction to Harry/Hermione fanfiction. But I do know that reading it is far more enjoyable than reading Harry/Ginny fanfiction.

Happy birthday again to Harry, J.K. Rowling, and Neville!!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “On the Ethics of Shipping (Harry Potter)

  1. StetotheJ says:

    I have never looked so indepth at Harry potter, maybe I need a reread!

    • I definitely recommend rereading Harry Potter; I’ve read every book in the series about 5 times and got something new out of it every reread. (Okay, so maybe that’s a bit much. :P) But seriously, I love Harry Potter; it’s certainly worth another look.

      • I can’t count on both hands how many times I’ve read the books, but they are worth every re-read. Every time you seem to find new THINGS to think about. Also, new pairings to SHIP ENDLESSLY.

Leave a Reply

