I’m obsessed with Christmas Music: Why am I listening to Christmas music in August?

Sorry, dear readers for the awful delay in between posts… We were out-of-town visiting the picturesque town of Villa de Leyva (Boyaca), Colombia. We rode horses and quads through the pine-filled desert, and fed ostriches out of the palms of our hands. Also, we got Wool Boots That Make You Feel Like You’re Walking in Clouds.

Anyways, I just recently noticed I’ve been humming Christmas music to myself a lot. It’s not just stuff like “Jingle Bells” and “Deck the Halls”, either. It’s stuff you’d find on The Ratpack’s Christmas Album, and She & Him and even Judy Garland. Admittedly this isn’t strange behaviour when it comes to me, but given that it IS AUGUST I’m a little bit worried. Afterall, it is NOT normal to sing “The Christmas Waltz” while trying to fall asleep.

Maybe I’m just really looking forward to the Doctor Who  Christmas Special and am hoping that time will fly faster if I sing this music?

Maybe I’m actually an Elf that got mistakenly sent to Human Land?

Whatever the reason, below I’ll share with you some of my favorite Christmas Songs.

“Baby It’s Cold Outside”

Alright, so this isn’t strictly a Christmas song, but it is perfect for the Winter. Of all of the recordings made of this song over the years, I’ve got to admit my favourites are the Zooey Deschanel and Leon Redbone version for Elf, as well as the She & Him A very She & Him Christmas version, and of course Lady Antebellum’s.

also, Dean Martin is absolutely soothing in his version:

“Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”

This is a very heart-warming and charming song. Whether it’s sung by Judy Garland in Meet Me in St. Louis or by Frank Sinatra on Christmas with the Rat Pack or by M. Ward and Zooey Deschanel on A Very She & Him Christmas. Simply Delightful. Another thing that I think sets this song apart from others, is it’s soothing-ness. Check it out!

“Blue Christmas”

Although  the Beach Boys  released  this song as a single on their Christmas Album the same day Elvis Presley released it as a single in 1964, it was Elvis’ version that drove people wild. It might have been the fact that Martina McBride sang it with him…

“White Christmas”

I think this is the reason I’m always hoping for at least a foot of snow on Christmas, despite my deep aversion to snow. The funny thing is, eventhough I always say I want it to be snowy on Christmas, I end up cursing the darned thing on our way to my Aunt’s house for Christmas Dinner, and then all the way back home. Bing Crosby’s is the best recording of this song… EVARRR!!

“Sleigh Ride”

Harry Connick Jr. is simply glorious in his rendering of this song. I might even like riding in a sleigh through THE SNOW if I could find a young fellow to sing this during the ride.

“Silver Bells”

Oh, my! I don’t know whose recording is my favourite! Bing Crosby! Harry Connick Jr!  She & Him! The Rat Pack!  They’re just too grand!

t

I’m sure I’m missing  few, but those are all the ones I can think of off of the top of my head(9)¾ without looking at my favourites on Pandora (which would be impossible anyways, since it can’t be accessed from Colombia…). I thank you for playing along with my insanity.

Do you have any holiday favourites? Let me know below!♦

9¾ And the award for writing of and off three times in a row within the same sentence goes to…

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

