Literally the Best Thing Ever: PBS’ Nova

I don’t normally watch PBS, unless Masterpiece is on, and I have the chance to watch Downton Abbey and Sherlock. However, I might, from time to time, make an exception to watch Nova, currently hosted by world-renown astrophysicist and director of the Hayden Planetarium, Neil deGrasse Tyson. 

Nova covers a huge range of topics, from the human body, to physics, math, nature, engineering… it is pretty much  never-ending. What I like about these, is that unlike NatGeo’s and History’s documentaries, these are actually far more amusing, if not somewhat easier to understand. It was because my Dear Father turned me onto the show (which he watches a lot on his laptop, while The Women monopolise the telly with Primetime Dramasthat I was able to not completely screw up my eight grade Science Fair project on how the Human Mind and Brain work. I spent a lot of last-minute time watching videos on Brain Injuries, and Optical Illusions and How Memory Works. I learned a lot, and even got to see NdGT in a starry vest/jacket(?), which totally made my day.

I encourage you to visit their site, because you are guaranteed to find something you like–be it a video, episode, transcript, article… whatever!–in their archives. Also be sure to check it out on your local PBS Station, along with Masterpiece Classic, Masterpiece Mystery, and of course, Nova ScienceNOW.

DFTBA 🙂

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

